My Love for Witness Insecurity 護花危情…or Bosco Wong, they’re interchangeable.

I’ve never said I am not a girl…and not shallow.  And this is the drama you’ll like if you are one of the above, maybe both. I love Witness Insecurity 護花危情 solely for Bosco Wong (shallow me) and the love story (girly me) alone.

This drama has actually completely slipped my radar because the promos where lackluster and I could not find myself getting excited for a Linda Chung drama after her overexposure in practically every TVB drama this year (I exaggerate, but it’s half true).

With that said, I’ve started watching it and this has got to be my favorite airing drama right now, topping Three Kingdoms RPG.

Bosco Wong is Hui Wai Sum/Hui Sir, the officer and leader of the Witness Protection Unit (WPU). He is orphaned at a young age and brought up by his aunt. The WPU is put in charge of protecting Kiu Kong He after he was almost murdered.  This is where Wai Sum fatefully meets Kiu Zi Lam (Linda Chung), niece of Kiu Kong He.  Kiu Zi Lam is the only (surviving) child of multimillionaire, Kiu Kong San who has suspicious underground connection with various mob organizations.  Kiu Zi Lam suffers from Post Traumatic Disorder after the death of her only brother at a young age.  She puts herself responsible for the accident and becomes slightly autistic.  By chance, the WPU transforms from protecting the uncleto protecting the niece.  Through the weeks together, Zi Lam starts opening up and interacting with people.  On top of the time spent together, Wai Sum also saves Zi Lam’s cello and life several times so it’s no surprise Zi Lam falls quickly for Wai Sum.  Alas, every relationship is not complete if not for the meddling and opposition of rich parents (*cough*Kiu Kong San*cough*).

The interaction between Zi Lam and Wai Sum really warms my heart, such an innocent and pure romantic bond (not that TVB stuff is ever risqué).  I really love Zi Lam’s crush on Wai Sum, she is so giddy to be around him that it’s cute.  It’s so amusing to see the introverted Zi Lam who loathes human interaction goes out of her way to contact Wai Sum’s cousin in order to keep in touch with Wai Sum after the Mission Protect Kiu Zi Lam is over.  And she’s always sneaking glances at him, so adorable (but Wai Sum must be BLIND to not see Zi Lam’s interest in him, she is so bad at hiding her feelings!).

I think Chung (and the writing) portrays the one-sided crush realistically that we feel for her (she kind of remind us of yourselves, yes?). Also, I suspect this is Wong’s big break since the decade old 我的野蠻奶奶 War of In Laws(I LOVE that drama, but it was 英雄·刀·少年 Find the Light that I started caring for Wong).  Witness Insecurity may be to Wong what The Hippocratic Crush is to Kenneth Ma or The Mysteries of Love to Raymond Lam. There are just so many swoon-worthy moments that it’s hard NOT to fall for Wai Sum and by extension, Bosco Wong.

Also, there are rumors afloating in the cyberpace that Zi Lam and/or Wai Sum may not get a happy ending.  If this is the case, rageeeeee! They are so wonderful together the NEED to live happily ever after and make beautiful babies.  Everyone’s with me on this one, right?

12 thoughts on “My Love for Witness Insecurity 護花危情…or Bosco Wong, they’re interchangeable.

  1. Aaarrgh I dislike the ending! But I agree with you, I love the scenes between Chi Lam and Hui Sir and how could Hui Sir not see Chi Lam taking numerous glances at him like all the time hahaha but I do love the drama<3 And Bosco<3 Haha

  2. You totally speak my feelings. “It’s so amusing to see the introverted Zi Lam who loathes human interaction goes out of her way to contact Wai Sum’s cousin in order to keep in touch with Wai Sum after the Mission Protect Kiu Zi Lam is over.”

    Hard to find someone to relate to. Getting so upset after rewatching this series again. IS THERE A PART II OMGGG

  3. Hey There. I found your weblog the use of msn. This is an extremely smartly
    written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your
    helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly return.

Leave a comment